Food In Review: Spring Break Eats

DSC05082_zps736e65f7Enjoying a cup of coffee at the historic Grove Park Inn Resort in Asheville, NC.

This post is going to be a break from the usual “let’s make a recipe and document it” routine.  Instead I thought I would take time to share with my legions of fan (yes, this is all for you, my one dear and lovely reader…okay maybe there is like 6 of you, but who is counting?) my spring break eats.  As I am in school again, I live a life where the breaks I have from said school highlight my calendar and turn arbitrary blocks of time into precious moments ready to be filled with time spent not at home.

And since I knew I wouldn’t be at home this past week, I knew I would have no chance to cook/bake something to feature on this blog.  That is how I came to decide I would take pictures of the more interesting meals eaten on my trip.  Perhaps this post will set a precedent for future travel food posts!

So here is where I went:

  • Asheville, NC

Chai Pani

The Laughing Seed

  • Gatlinburg, TN

The Wild Plum Tea Room

random candy shops

BRING ON THE PICTURES

First up:

CHAI PANI
22 Battery Park Ave  Asheville, NC 28801

Chai Pani is a restaurant serving Indian street-food inspired dishes (a good portion of which are gluten-free).  As I am incredibly fond of Indian street food (at least the kind available to me in the U.S. since I have never been to India), this is a restaurant that I seriously wanted to try.

My boyfriend/travel companion, being from Mumbai (or as he calls it–Bombay), was also curious about what sort of stuff was being sold at this “Indian street food” toting place.

For our appetizer we shared “Bombay Chili Cheese Fries” –which my boyfriend assured me was something one could never hope to find on the streets of Bombay/Mumbai.

We both agreed they were delicious though.

Bombay Chili Cheese Fries consist of a haystack of crispy shoestring thin french fries topped with chopped tomato, garam masala spiced ground turkey, a generous quantity of creamy paneer crumbles, and cilantro.

It also comes with a side of tangy ketchup.

2013-03-14 20.28.03

For my entrée I ordered the coconut uttapam.  Uttapam is sort of like an Indian pizza, except it isn’t really that reminiscent of a pizza.  Just imagine a soft, slightly chewy/spongy thin circle of bread with stuff on top.  But I should point out that this is not “bread” and it isn’t made of wheat flour, but instead rice and lentil flour.

I love uttapam and it this one was pretty good.  It was a little thicker/softer then some of the ones I’ve had, but enjoyable nonetheless.

2013-03-14 20.35.44

For his entrée my boyfriend (who I will from now on refer to as “Double S”) ordered the non-vegetarian thali (a meal made up of tandoori style chicken, dal, rice, roti, papadum, and a rice pudding).  There is no picture of this because at this point I was eating and my hands were too dirty to take pictures with.

And we of course had chai with our meal.

2013-03-14 20.23.02

THE WILD PLUM TEA ROOM
555 Buckhorn Rd  Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Gatlinburg is a very cute town, and it is very much in the middle of nowhere.  Though once you venture into the downtown stretch of Gatlinburg, and then make your way into Pigeon Forge, you will find the streets overflowing with tourists and lined with putt putt courses, the souvenir shops, and places where you can witness wonders, like a massive rubber band ball.

These things are all nice, but sometimes I like to enjoy a more delicate environment, one that I can only now appreciate as the somber, sober, and refined 25-year-old lady that I insist that I am.

And that is why I decided that Double S and I would lunch at The Wild Plum Tea Room (as opposed to one of the 11,000 pancake establishments in the 5 mi radius of where we were staying).

DSC04940_zps5d58c05dHere I am standing by the enchanting Wild Plum Tea Room sign.

DSC04947_zps012a8435Double S chilling while we make our food selections.

I ordered the smoked salmon sandwich with a side of the cheddar soup.  To make the sandwich GF I turned it into a salad (just asked to switch out the bread with lettuce).  It was awesome–garnished with avocado, red onion, sprouts, and dill cream cheese!.

DSC04950_zpsceffbc5d

DSC04952_zps05d6261cDouble S’s lobster pie and side of fruit.

Well I of course wanted dessert, and I was kind of in the mood for ice cream, which was just as well since that was the only GF dessert offering.  Pictured below is the ice cream trio, a sampling of blueberry, vanilla, and cinnamon ice cream.  Double S favored the blueberry, and I liked all of them.

DSC04958_zps4dc46551

THE LAUGHING SEED
40 Wall St  Asheville, NC 28801

At this delightful Asheville restaurant one can find an array of vegetarian dishes, many of which come in vegan and gluten-free options.

Double S and I shared a mango lassi and a gluten-free vegetarian “Cuban” sandwich with fries.  We also got a fresh juice blend, but I didn’t take a picture of it–GASP!

DSC05092_zpsc7e6b329

DSC05094_zps2cb5c4e1

DSC05096_zpsf2c705eb

Man, so delicious…I wish everyday I could travel and try good food.

TLC, you wanna give me a show?  No?  Travel Channel?  CNN?  AMC?  VH-1??

Call my agent.

Madeline aka the Hopeful Hestia

One thought on “Food In Review: Spring Break Eats

  1. Hi Mattie and Double S,

    Loved your review, photos and your fun outlook on things (including yourself)!
    I hope to make your scookies today or tomorrow.

    Love you,
    Aunt Jean

Leave a Reply

