Dirty Blonde Scookies

2013-03-09 14.12.07

The other day I had an incredible urge to bake.  Sometimes, if I have not cooked or baked in a week or so (and heating up frozen fish fillets or baking potatoes are not things I would consider to be “cooking”), I just have this urge to make something.  Part of it stems from baking being a form of entertainment–I enjoy putzing around the kitchen.  Also, I like creating something useful–everyone uses food.

I debated whether or not I wanted to bake something gluten-free.  After having excluding gluten from my diet for over a month, I recently ate gluten-rich foods for a day and felt noticeably worse (rapid heart beat, headache, stomach bloat, etc).  Also, this is the first time in my life I have had no skin rashes/eczema for so many consecutive days.  What this boils down to is, I’m forsaking gluten completely.

So on one hand I wanted to make something gluten-free, since this is how I probably will bake from now on at home.  On the other hand, I wanted to make something for my mom.  My mom isn’t opposed to gluten-free bakery, but I wasn’t 100% sure I would be able to make a gluten-free baked good that would turn out correctly.  (I need more GF baking under my belt).

2013-03-09 14.13.01

In the end I made these glutenous treats. I have decided to name “Dirty Blonde Scookies”.  “Wtf is that???” you may be asking yourself.

Well I was feeling inventive and decided to experiment by using my standard scone recipe as a jumping off point.  I in turn created something halfway between a cookie and a scone (thus “scookie”).  The “dirty blonde” comes in since I loaded them with butterscotch chips, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and pecans (sort of like things you would find in a blondie brownie plus the dark chocolate=dirty blonde).

I am happy to say my mom LOVED these and urged me to write what I did to make them before I forgot!

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 bag of butterscotch chips (11.05 oz)
  • 1/2 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips (about 6oz)
  • 6 oz of chopped pecan halves (roughly chopped)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt until fully blended.
  3. Make sure the butter is cold.  Cut butter into chunks and blend it into the dry mix using a pastry blender.  You can also use two knives, a fork, or a food processor.  Incorporate butter into the dry mix until it is crumbly.
  4. Blend in the brown sugar.
  5. In a separate bowl beat the egg and the milk together.
  6. Add the wet milk/egg mixture into the flour until the flour mixture is no longer dry.
  7. Add butterscotch chips, chocolate chips, and nuts.
  8. Flour a large cutting board or some other work surface.  Flour your hands as well.  Scoop dough out and form a large rectangle.  (Sorry I can’t give specific measurements as I didn’t document this part).  Rectangle should be about an inch or an inch and a quarter tall.
  9. Slice into squares/smaller rectangles.
  10. Place on ungreased baking sheet.
  11. Bake for 15-20 minutes (or until they start to get a bit brown and crusty on the outside).

Viola!

Until my next post,

Madeline aka the Hopeful Hestia

2 thoughts on “Dirty Blonde Scookies

  1. Your mom (my sister) brought you scookies to Ohio. These were outstanding, Mattie, just outstanding. I plan to make these very soon… will need to buy some butterscotch chips. I’m glad you feel better by avoiding gluten-foods. Love you, Aunt Jean

Leave a Reply

