Healthy Hestia: Avocado Baked Egg

Hey everyone!  I’m back, just like I said I would be!  I can’t believe it myself!  Haha, but it is good to get back into blogging.  I really want to establish a routine, and not neglect this thing so much.

So today I am going to chronicle my attempt (successful) at preparing an avocado baked egg.  This is a simple and HEALTHY recipe.  I put ‘healthy’ in all caps because there are some recipes on this blog that I would not label as healthy.  This doesn’t mean they aren’t good, but like I stated in my previous entry, I would like to explore more healthy recipes.

I want to make it easy for visitors to my blog to find these healthy recipes, so from here on out I will label healthy recipe entries with “Healthy Hestia” tag.  This will be my nutritionally sound blog alter-ego!

2013-01-13 13.18.29

Avocado baked egg sprinkled with garlic salt and black and cayenne pepper

I have been meaning to try this recipe for months now.  It has come to my attention plenty of times on websites like Pinterest and Tumblr, usually toted by those advocating healthy recipes to help fuel workouts.  But I kept putting it off, mainly because I wanted to wait until I knew I could commit to blogging about it!

This is a very simple recipe that calls for few ingredients.  I visited a few blogs to determine how I would prepare my avocado baked egg, and kind of came up with my own steps, though I did nothing that varied greatly.  Some people put cheese or salsa on their avocado eggs, some used different seasonings or higher over temperatures.  You too can develop your own method of preparation, this is not a fragile item to make!

What I used:

  • 1 medium ripe avocado
  • 1 egg
  • black pepper
  • garlic salt
  • cayenne pepper

2013-01-13 12.39.06

1) First make sure your avocado is ripe.

You can determine if it is ripe by pressing it, if it feels hard to the touch, it is not ripe, if your finger leaves a deep indentation, if may be too ripe.  It should ideally feel like you are pressing into the cartilage on the side of your nose (I read that somewhere and I found it an apt comparison).

2) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Some recipes said 425 degrees F, but I like the number ‘375’ better since it is all odd numbers and I think it looks nice.

3) Cut the avocado in half, starting your cut at that top of the avocado near the brown bellybutton (that is how i think of it).

2013-01-13 12.40.49

4) Remove pit from avocado.  Depending on how large of a pit your avocado has, you may or may not want to use a spoon to hollow out a bigger hole to put your egg into.  I hollowed out mine a bit more, just to be safe.  I didn’t want the egg spilling out over the top!

If you are not preparing two portions, then I would recommend chopping up the other avocado half and sprinkling it with lemon juice before storing it in the fridge.  This will prevent any discoloration/it turning brown.  Then later, you have a great salad or sandwich topping on had!

2013-01-13 12.44.48

5) Crack an egg into the avocado hole.  It is like a perfect little bed for the egg to rest in!

Some avocados may be less balanced than others, and you may find your egg wanting to spillover the sides.  You can prevent this by cutting the back of the avocado to create a flat surface on its back.  My avocado half was pretty stable, so I just rested a side of it against the baking pan.

6) Put your avocado on a baking pan and pop it in the oven.  Some recipes said 15 minutes, others said 20 minutes, it all depends on your oven and how well you like your eggs done.  I kept mine in for about 30 minutes, because I wasn’t in the mood for a runny yolk today.

7) When avocado is done baking top with seasoning.  I suppose this could be also done before putting it in the oven.  Some recipes included shredded cheese as a topping, which you would put on before baking your avocado.

2013-01-13 13.20.52

Personally I find avocados to be very rich tasting, and I think the additional fat the cheese would bring would be redundant and too much of a fat/rich taste.  For me, it would get in the way of tasting the avocado.

The garlic salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper worked perfectly though!  I added the cayenne because I like spicy flavors in my food and I didn’t want to rely too heavily on salt to give this dish a kick of flavor.

Here is a pic of me enjoying my delicious and nutrient packed breakfast:

2013-01-13 13.22.02

Nutritional Info

This recipe is about 210 calories.  I say ‘about’ since it depends on how large your avocado and eggs are..  But calories are not the aspect of this dish I want to highlight.  Instead I would like to point out that this recipe is high in fiber, protein, and healthy fats!

Avocados: contain heart-healthy unsaturated fat, vitamin C,  and vitamin K!  Depending on its weight, one avocado contains about 10 grams of fiber, 2 grams of protein, and 22 grams of fat, most of which (15 grams) is monounsaturated fat.

Eggs: high in protein and contain nutrients like lutein, zeaxanthin and choline.  Lutein and zeaxanthin are said promote eye health by reducing risk of macular degeneration.  Choline aids brain health in adults.  It is good for pregnant woman to eat eggs as well, since choline promotes healthy fetal brain development and reduces risks of defects.

Until next week!

xoxox

Madeline

Leave a Reply

