Blueberry Cobbler

INTRO

When I heard my mom had invited company over for dinner, I immediately offered to help out and make the dessert.  And given the fact that there were 3 containers of fresh blueberries in the fridge, I knew they would have to be utilized in whatever I made.

My mom suggested that I do a cold custard blueberry tart.  This sounded good to me, but I was in the mood for something more basic, simple, and less time-consuming to make (I had plans to spend the afternoon at the pool).

Cobbler quickly came to mind as not 24 hours before I’d seen a great blueberry cobbler recipe on Pinterest.  It was from a blog called “No. 2 Pencil” for Grandma Bea’s Blueberry Cobbler.  It looked fantastic.  I loved the simplicity of the ingredients, and there is something so quintessentially “American Summer” about a blueberry cobbler.

I had to make it!

RECIPE

Here is what you will need to make this cobbler:

Cakey part:
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 3 tablespoons of shortening I used butter as I didn’t have any shortening, though I really hate shortening so I probably would use butter no matter what.
  • 1 cup of milk I used skim since that is what is in the house usually.
Fruity part:
  • 2 pounds of fresh blueberries I used about 2 1/2 cups, as I don’t have a scale.
  • 1 cup of sugar  I used brown sugar with a few teaspoons jaggery.
  • 1 cup of hot water (more if needed, you want to leave 1/2 an inch from the top of the pan)
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
1) First things first, give your blueberries a bath!  No soap necessary, just a nice sink of water.  Let the blueberries float around for a bit, then let them dry in a colander or on a towel.
You can leave them be and continue with making the cobbler.  They will probably be dry when it’s time to put them in the cobbler.  If not, you can always just give them a few gentle pats with a towel.


2) In a large mixing bowl, combine sugar, baking powder, and salt.

MY NOTE: The recipe called for 2 cups of white sugar, one cup to mix into the dry ingredients (what will become the batter) and one cup to pour on top of the cobbler (this will blend into the blueberries and create a kind of delicious fruit goo).

I only had one cup (exactly 1 cup!) of sugar in my house, and I was not about to ask my neighbors if I could borrow any (I mean, who does that really?).  But I did have plenty of brown sugar, and I even had a few spoonfuls of jaggery (left over from my disastrous puran poli attempt), so I just used a mixture of brown sugar and jaggery for my 2nd cup of sugar.


3) Add the cold butter (I cut the butter into smaller chunks before adding to the dry mix).  Combine the butter into the mix with a pastry cutter  or a pair of knives.

4) Add milk and stir to combine.  Don’t over mix.  Some lumps are good, just like when making pancake batter.

So you can see what a proper cobbler batter should look like, here is mine:


5) Grease 9×13 baking pan.

MY NOTES: I used cooking spray to grease the dish in place of butter or shortening.  Also, I used a Corningware dish that had slightly smaller dimensions, and encountered no trouble.

Pour batter into baking dish.


6) Add the blueberries.  I just sprinkled them evenly about the cobbler.  The recipe called for 2 pounds of berries, but I don’t have a food scale so I just did 2 cups.  I found that 2 cups just didn’t look like enough after I had added them to the cobbler batter.  So I added a few more till the cobbler looked sufficiently filled with berries.  In the end I think I used just under 3 cups of berries.

7) Use your second cup of sugar to evenly coat the top of your cobbler.  I did not use a whole cup, because that seemed like a bit too much sugar, so I used only about 3/4 of mostly brown sugar and a bit of jaggery.

8) Pour 1 cup of hot water on top of cobbler, thoroughly coating the cobbler.

I have to admit, and this is the first cobbler I have ever made, I was unsure of this step.  But you def want to add water, because it kind of develops into the blueberry goo.

Also I would use brown sugar/jaggery mix again instead of the white sugar, as I feel it adds more flavor.  Next time I actually might use a bit more jaggery, or even coconut sugar (which I hear has a caramel aftertaste).


9) Place dollops of butter throughout the cobbler.

10) Place cobbler in oven at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes.  I baked mine closer to 60 minutes.

11) Serve with ice cream and/or whipped cream!

 

CONCLUSION

This cobbler was DELICIOUS!  This is one of my favorite things I’ve made recently.  The cobbler dough/crust was a great stage for the blueberries to show off their flavor, and the texture and flavor of the crust was awesome.  Just cakey/biscuity enough.

Also the fruit to crust proportion was spot on.  My mom even commented that it was the prefect ratio of fruit to cake.

My mom’s guests enjoyed it as well, and gave it very positive reviews.

There is no doubt about it, this is a recipe I will for sure use again, and perhaps even experiment with (like using fruit other than blueberries).  If you are looking for a great tasting, fruit-filled summertime dessert, look no further than this cobbler!

xoxox

Madeline

 

One thought on “Blueberry Cobbler

Leave a Reply

