Broiled Grapefruit


INTRO

Lately I’ve seen a lot of posts on Pinterest and other websites for recipes for broiled grapefruit. Apparently broiling grapefruit is not a new thing, but I had never thought of doing it. I love grapefruit, and eat it often. I usually peel it like an orange and eat it that way. But I was curious to see how I’d like it broiled.

And it is a super easy recipe!

RECIPE

There were a few recipes I saw for broiled grapefruit, and they are all pretty much the same.  The one that stood out to me though, was Running with Tweezer’s version for “Rosewater Broiled Grapefruit.”  Rosewater anything is good to me.

From Running with Tweezers:

Rosewater Broiled Grapefruit

Stuff you’ll need:

  • 1 large grapefruit, cut in half horizontally
  • 1 tbsp. rosewater
  • 2 tbsp. sugar or brown sugar <—– I used jaggery instead
  • zest of one lime <—–I didn’t have a lime, so no lime zest for me

1. Get a grapefruit.

Wash it.

2. Cut your grapefruit in half.

Admire its glistening flesh.

Meditate on it for a bit.

Then move on.

3. Get out your rosewater and brown sugar.

I used jaggery, as I really like the taste and I had a bit on had, leftover from my horrible puran poli.  Jaggery is very very unrefined sugar, and like brown sugar, it contains molasses.

4. Cover the grapefruit halves with rosewater, sprinkle with sugar.

Also you might want to use a toaster oven or a regular oven for this, they both work.  I used a toaster oven, and so I wasn’t able to used a sheet pan.  I ended up just using some foil to create a little makeshift tray.

Preheat broiler to about 350 degrees.  When the oven is warm pop in your grapefruit in the middle rack.

You will want to keep a close eye on your fruit, as the sugar can quickly burn after a certain point.

If you are using a regular oven, I would suggest keep the oven light on.  As I was using a toaster oven, it was easy to just look in on them from time to time.

The recipe I was following said to keep them in 3-5 minutes, or until the sugar starts to bubble.  I ended up keeping mine in for closer to 8 min.

Overall I would say that this is a nice way to eat grapefruit, but adding the extra sugar (on top of the grapefruit’s natural sugars) seems like a way to turn a healthy snack into a less healthy snack.  It also takes longer to broil a grapefruit then to just eat it as it is.  And it makes more of a mess.

While these were ok, I did not love them.  I doubt I will bother broiling a grapefruit again, though I am happy I tried it once.

xoxo

The Helpful Hestia

One thought on “Broiled Grapefruit

  1. Well done, Hestia. I quite agree with you….not worth the trouble, and why turn a healthy food into a piece of candy? We get enough of that as it is. I hope you got back safely last night, with wallet in hand….we missed you on the (miserable) ride back to NYC…wound up in Queens, took over two hours to get home. Aargh! Sad day all around, I would say, under the circs, and glad it’s over, n’est-ce pas? Will talk soon.

    Love,
    Auntie P.

Leave a Reply

