Valentine’s Day Dinner: Heart-Shaped Pizzas

INTRO
It is popular to go out for dinner on Valentine’s Day, but it can be just as fun/romantic to stay home and make your date dinner!  Don’t have a date?  Who cares!  I think it’s sad that Valentine’s Day is so focused on romantic love (eros), when there are so many other manifestations of love.

There is the love between friends (phileo), the affection of family (storage), and my favorite type of love: the unconditional, selfless kind of love that is devoid of greed (agape).  But enough of this review of Greek words for love!  Onto the food…

Heart-Shaped Pizzas

PhotobucketHeart shaped pizzas: 4 cheese Italian blend w/ricotta and olives, 1 with no olives

RECIPE

Note: There are many ways to make a pizza crust.  For this recipe, I decided to use a “quick” pizza dough recipe, meaning that is does not need hours and hours to rise. 

Stuff you’ll need for the crust:

  • 1 pkg. dry yeast
  • 3/4 c. very warm water (120-130 degrees)
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Soak yeast in water for 5 minutes. Add flour, salt and sugar and mix to blend.
  3. Knead for 2-3 minutes until flour is well blended. Cover and let rise in a warm place for 15 minutes.
  4. Roll dough to fit a 12 inch pizza pan, or you can do as I did, and make them into heart shapes!  This is a bit troublesome though, as I don’t feel pizza dough really lends itself to taking on a heart shape.
  5. Top pizza with tomato sauce and toppings of your choice. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until the cheese is browned and bubbly.

PhotobucketOne of my favorite pizza topping combos: ricotta cheese and black olives!

You can have a lot of fun with toppings, but I would recommend not putting too many toppings on a pizza.  My rule is no more than 3.  Of course, rules are meant to be broken, so don’t get too hung up on it!

I just find too many toppings can sometimes create a muddled flavor clash, and the individual flavors of the various toppings are lessened.

I did engage in one experiment.  It was requested of me that I make a pizza with no tomatoes (sauce included), so I used some tamarind chutney as a sauce base and added some Kalamata olive goat cheese (a recent find at Trader Joe’s!), along with black olives and arugula.

Photobucket

My “artisanal” pizza: tamarind date chutney with arugula, olives, and Kalamata olive goat cheese.

A Valentine’s sweet will be covered in my next entry!

xoxo Madeline aka The Hopeful Hestia

Leave a Reply

