Valentine’s Day Dessert: Heart-Shapped Nutella Tarts with Rosewater Icing

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Photobucket
And happy Unhappy Valentine’s Day for all of you who are feeling kinda screwed by love, or those of you who just can’t stand yet another commercialized holiday being shoved down your throat by corporate America!

In any event, get over it!  Lol.  Though I find Valentine’s Day rather annoying most of the time, I am very fond of pink and I love cartoon heart-shaped things (not things in the shape of an actual heart).  So I thought I’d make something special for a day dedicated to:

Photobucket
Because a holiday celebrating love shouldn’t be vilified, no matter how stupid it is.

After thinking about the various things I could make, I decided I’d create:

Heart-Shaped Nutella Tarts with Rosewater Icing

It covers a lot of the Valentine’s basics: hearts, pink, chocolate, and flowers!

Plus I’m just crazy about Nutella, the national condiment of Italy lol, or at least the official spread of Tumblr…seriously that microblogging community couldn’t be more obsessed with Nutella.  And I don’t blame them.

And if there is a flavor I love as much as the chocolately hazelnut wonder of Nutella, it is the luscious bouquet of magic that is rosewater.  Rosewater anything is alright by me, I can’t get enough.

So here is the recipe:

Stuff You’ll Need:

  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp. vinegar
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup ice-cold water
  • Nutella to stuff the tarts with (amount needed can vary)

For the Icing:

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 7 teaspoons rosewater
  • 5 1/2 teaspoons water
  • A few drops of red food coloring (adjust food coloring to how pink you want to make your icing)
  • Salt (to taste, I’d say I added a 1/2 teaspoon)
  1. In a small bowl beat the egg. Add in the vinegar and cold water.
  2. In a separate bowl or the food processor, combine the cold butter (cut in small pieces) with the flour until it resembles a coarse meal.  I use a pastry blender.
  3. Add in the wet ingredients and mix until just incorporated.  DO NOT ADD MORE WATER!!! WHATEVER YOU DO!!
  4. Roll out the dough making sure you have a well floured board and rolling-pin to avoid sticking.
  5. Using knife, cut into heart shapes.  Or, if you have a large cookie cutter, by all means use that.  I did not though!

Photobucket
6. Make sure you cut your hearts out in pairs.  I just cut a heart out, placed it on the dough, and traced around it to make it’s partner.  That way you know they will fit together/overlap.

7. Stuff the hearts with Nutella.  This can be tricky, as Nutella puts up resistance when you try to spread it around.  Also I did not want to overstuff them, though in retrospect, I feel like I should’ve put more Nutella in them…so just use your own judgement!

8. Seal the tarts by brushing them with a bit of beaten egg, and press the edges together with a fork.  Prick the centers of the tarts with the fork also.

Photobucket
9. Bake for 10-12 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees F.

10. Cool on a wire rack.

Note: I used some extra dough to spell the words “Love”!  It’s cute, n’est-ce pas?

Photobucket
I also used some extra dough to make this petit empenada-inspired tart!

Photobucket

To make the rosewater icing:

  1. Mix the powdered sugar, rosewater, water, and food coloring until it is completely blended.
  2. Add salt, to taste.  I find a tiny bit of salt gives it an extra kick.
  3. Spread onto completely cooled tarts.  Dust with sugar (if desired).

PhotobucketUp close and personal.  A view of the empanada tart’s Nutella guts. 

Also, as you can see, some of the tarts I forgot to seal properly, so they split open a bit.  Oh dear! 

And below, my hearts chillin on the wire rack:

Photobucket

CONCLUSION

These were pretty tasty.  The rosewater flavor actually went well with Nutella, something that I was not sure of.

Also, my favorite part was the rosewater icing.  Now I’m obsessed with making cardamom (or pistachio, not sure which) sugar cookies with rosewater icing.  So look out for that in the future.

What I’d do differently:

I would try to roll the pastry thinner, I felt some of the tarts didn’t have the right filling to pastry ratio, and I don’t know how I could fit more Nutella in, so I’d just try to use less pastry.

XOXO

Madeline aka the Hopeful Hestia

Leave a Reply

