Scones: Fruit, Nut, and Chocolate

INTRO

Scones are probably the one thing (other than cookies) that I have made the most.  I could probably do it in my sleep!  Because I am so comfortable making them, I frequently change-up the recipe/how I make them.  Scones are great, in that they are so flexible.  You ca make sweet or savory scones.  You can put chocolate or cheese in them, butter or lard, you can make them cakey or bready.  And they go great with coffee!

Because I will probably make more scones and post them to this blog in the future, I am going to use this colon to designate the kind of scone this is.

Scones: Fruit, Nut, and Chocolate

Photobucket

RECIPE

Stuff You’ll Need:

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, cold and cut into pieces
  • 1 egg
  • 1 (5 oz.) can evaporated milk
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup pecan halves
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries

Photobucket

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Blend well.

3. Cut butter into the dry mixture, until it is crumbly.  It should look crumbly.  I use a pastry blender to do this.  You could also use a food processor, or knives (using a scissor like technique).

Photobucket

4. Stir in fruit, nuts, and chocolate.

You could add less or more of these “toppings” –more or less chocolate etc…

Photobucket

5. In a small bowl, combine evaporated milk and egg.

Notice, I used too small a bowl, which made the mixing slightly more treacherous than it need be.

Photobucket

6. Add all the liquid mixture at once, and stir into the dry mixture until you get a moist dough.

7. On a well-floured surface (and flour your hands as well!) knead 5-6 times, or until the dough is no longer sticky.

Photobucket

8. Press into an 8 inch circle, about 1 inch thick.

Cut into 8 wedges and separate.

Note: You don’t have to separate them.  You can bake it as a circle with the portions sectioned off.  If you do this, cut it AFTER putting on an ungreased cookie sheet, as it is just easier to manage.  I prefer separating them, as they have more crusty/baked edges.

Photobucket
9. Place 4 scones on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with sugar, if desired.

Obviously you will bake 2 batches of 4.  Don’t try to bake all 8 at once, as they may not bake as evenly or efficiently.

Photobucket

10. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Sometimes I bake them as long as 30 minutes, to give them an almost biscotti like texture, great for dunking in coffee!

Photobucket

11. Place scones on cooling rack and let cool for at least a half hour.

Or you could serve them warm!  With butter!

Photobucket
CONCLUSION

So this recipe was nothing new for me.  As I said, I make scones ALL THE TIME, so this was not much of a learning experience.  Everyone really likes my scones, especially my mom, who requested I make these.

And if you don’t like nuts, or chocolate, etc, the recipe for the scone base I provided will support almost any ingredients you want.  Scones are a great way to clear out your baking pantry of miscellaneous ingredients!

Note: If you want to experiment with a savory scone, leave out the 1/4 cup sugar and add cheese and shallots (for example).

Photobucket

Say tuned for Valentine’s Day treats!

Madeline aka The Hopeful Hestia

3 thoughts on “Scones: Fruit, Nut, and Chocolate

  1. I am getting ready to open a bed and breakfast on a very historic property in Virginia. (it’s where James Madison was born) One of the events we are going to offer is an Afternoon Tea. So I am so glad I came across your blog! Thanks for the great post!

Leave a Reply

