Super Bowl Dips: Buffalo Chicken Dip and Apple Berry Salsa w/Cinnamon Snack Chips

Like any good American (despite my disinterest in football) I watched the Super Bowl last Sunday.  And also like any good American, I celebrated with food.  In fact, I read somewhere, perhaps Parade magazine, that on Super Bowl Sunday the average American consumes approximately 1,200 calories while watching the game!  The only other holiday with higher caloric averages is Thanksgiving!  Oofa!

In any event, I saw the Super Bowl as a great opportunity for a blog post.  And I’d also happened to have stumbled upon a delicious looking recipe for Buffalo Chicken Dip while browsing TasteSpotting.  Then I remembered a fabulous salsa I had at my mom’s Pampered Chef party last summer, and that was it, I decided I would watch the game and make…

Buffalo Chicken Dip & Apple Berry Salsa

PhotobucketAt my house: the assortment of snacks for the Super Bowl…I was responsible for the Buffalo Chicken Dip,

which the the orange colored stuff, and the apple berry salsa (near the wine bottle) with homemade cinnamon snack chips.

INTRO

This Super Bowl entry will be SUPER BIG and feature not 1, BUT 2 RECIPES!!  The first one is for the savory Buffalo Chicken Dip, very apropos for something like the Super Bowl, where Buffalo Chicken wings and other American bar food are de rigueur.

Following this recipe, is the recipe for Apple Berry Salsa and Cinnamon Snack Chips, a sweet addition to any party table!


RECIPE 1: BUFFALO CHICKEN DIP

Photobucket

Stuff You’ll Need:

  • 8oz reduced fat or fat-free cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1/4 cup Blue Cheese crumbles
  • 1/4 cup Blue Cheese Dressing
  • 1/2 cup Buffalo Wing Sauce
  • 1.4-2lbs Cooked Chicken Breasts, chopped or shredded
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon coarse ground pepper

1. First you are gonna need some breasts, chicken breasts that is. 

You can buy them already cooked and seasoned, or you can cook and season them yourself.  I chose to got the latter route, as I am trying to teach myself how to cook minus the shortcuts.

I was a vegetarian for 7 years, and even now I’m not a huge meat-eater, so I don’t have much experience in cooking meat.  In fact, I don’t have much experience in storing meat either, which is probably why my mom freaked out and started carrying on like a banshee when she discovered I stored the raw packaged chicken on top of the cheese in one of the fridge drawers.  Apparently chicken juice can leak out of the package.  Opps.  But like, no one got salmonella poisoning, so it’s cool.

2. Wash off your chicken breasts in cool water.  When I Googled ‘how to prepare chicken’ I was told to do this.
Photobucket

3. Get a roasting pan or cover a baking sheet with foil.  Put about a 1/4 cup of olive oil in a prep bowl, mix your salt, coarse ground black pepper, and red pepper flakes and place on a dish.

Note: You can season your chicken anyway you want.  I chose just basic salt and pepper because I didn’t want any flavors from the chicken to compete with the buffalo and blue cheese flavors.  I also used the red pepper flakes to add to the heat of the buffalo spice.

Photobucket

4. Cover both sides of the chicken in the olive oil, then rub the salt and pepper mixture into the chicken.  Place the chicken on the roasting rack of the pan, or on the foil lined baking sheet.
Photobucket
5. Pop them the oven (heated to 350 degree F).  Bake for 15 minutes, then flip the chicken over onto the other side.  Bake that side for 15 minutes, or until they look done or a meat thermometer reads 160 degrees.

I baked them for an extra 2:30 minutes, as my meat thermometer wouldn’t get higher than 157 degrees.  The chicken looked done, but I was paranoid it wasn’t cooked throughly.  But I didn’t want dry chicken either.

So I ended up cutting one in half to make sure it wasn’t raw.


Photobucket

6. Chop or shred your chicken. 

I chose to chop mine, because I started to chop it without thinking.  Then my mom walked into the kitchen and I was like “WTF should I do, should I shred the rest or just keep chopping?” and my mom was like, “I don’t like shredded chicken, I much prefer chopped chicken, it has a better texture.”  So I just chopped all of it.

PhotobucketAll the stuff you need for the dip! Chicken, cheese, sauces, yogurt.

7. In a bowl, mix cream cheese, yogurt, blue cheese, cheese crumbles, and sauce.

Note: Let your cream cheese get to room temperature for easier mixing.

All the stuff in the bowl, pre-mixing:
Photobucket
The stuff in the bowl post-mixing (kinda looks like humus, don’t you think?):
Photobucket
8. Add chicken. Stir until well combined.
Photobucket
9. Coat a small baking dish with cooking spray.  Spoon mixture into the baking dish.  Bake 20-25 minutes in an oven heated to 350 degree F.
Photobucket
Photobucket
10. Take it out of the oven!  The top should be bubbling! You can serve it hot, room temperature, or cold.  I liked it hot, some other people commented that they preferred it after it had time to cool.  Either way!  Chop up some veggies, get pita chips, or what have you, and dig in!


RECIPE 2: APPLE BERRY SALSA WITH CINNAMON SNACK

CHIPS

This is a salsa I first had last summer when my mom hosted a Pampered Chef party at our house.  It was my favorite thing being served that day–I am a fruit-aholic, I must admit, I can eat an ungodly amount of fruit.  So this dip was just perfect for me.

The cinnamon chips are super easy to make, and they go great with the salsa.  Leftover salsa can even be used as yogurt or oatmeal topping, or even on a salad!

Photobucket

Stuff You’ll Need:

  • 2 Granny Smith Apples, finely chopped
  • 1 Kiwi, chopped
  • 2 cups Strawberries, chopped
  • 1 Lemon, juiced
  • 1 large Navel Orange, zested and juiced
  • 2 tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Apricot Preserves or Apple Jelly
  • 1 package of Wheat or White Tortillas
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon

1. Wash your fruit.  No one likes dirty fruit.

And if that lemon looks a little naked, that’s because it has been zested for a previous recipe (I used it in the zabaglione), but as I only need the juice, it doesn’t matter.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

2. While your fruit is soaking in water or drying, you can get started on the cinnamon chips.

Tear or cut your tortillas into ‘chips.’  I tore mine, as I like the rough look and it is just an easier/more direct way of doing things.  Place the chips on a baking pan.  I used this pizza pan with holes in the bottom, which help make the bottom just as crispy as the top.

Then sprinkle or lightly brush the tops of the tortillas with water.  Mix the sugar and cinnamon until well-blended and sprinkle on the chips.

Place chips in an 350 degree oven for 8 to 10 minutes.  Let cool completely.  Viola!  Cinnamon chips.

PhotobucketI chose to use whole wheat tortillas because they are less processed than white tortillas and have more nutritional value.

3. Chop your fruit. 

You can chop it as fine as you want it.  I made the salsa fairly fine in texture, but you can make it chunkier, it doesn’t matter!  Next time I might make it that way.

Note: Now is a good time to juice the lemon and coat the apple bits with the lemon juice.  This prevents the apples from turning brown.

4. Zest orange.

This is fairly self-explanatory.  You can zest it using any type of grater.  I used this standing grater.  It is a pain in the ass to get all the orange rind out though.  Drives me crazy!  I really can’t wait to get a MicroPlane grater!!  Those look DA BOMB!!

Photobucket
5. Juice orange.

Just get all the liquid outta that beast.

Photobucket
6. Add juice to the chopped fruit mixture.

As you can see, I forgot to add the chopped strawberries.  But that isn’t a big deal, as this is a salsa and fairly foul proof. So I just added them after adding the orange juice.  No biggie.

Photobucket
7. Add your brown sugar and apricot preserves/apple jelly, whichever you are using.

The first time I had this, I had it made with apple jelly.  It was good, the only problem is I don’t really like apple jelly by itself, and the only ones at the grocery store were made with high-fructose corn syrup–a highly processed sweetner I try to avoid.  That said, Smucker’s Apricot Preserves DOES have HFCS, but we already had it in the fridge and a do like the taste of apricot more than apple.

(My mom bought this jam, I always only buy jams with no HFCS, but a little certainly isn’t going to kill you.)

Photobucket8. Stir it all together!

No egg-beater necessary.
Photobucket

CONCLUSION

My dips were a big hit!

At first some people said that the Buffalo Chicken Dip was a little rich.  Though when it cooled down to room temperature, people perceived it as being less rich.  Still, that is something to consider next time!  Maybe I will add more chicken, or put in less blue cheese.

But as it is a rather heavy dip, the celery and carrot sticks I provided were the perfect accompaniments.  Also, I got some ranch flavored pita chips, which were also popular with the dip.  I will certainly make the Buffalo Chicken Dip again (and maybe spicier!).

PhotobucketSweet & Savory Dips, something for each taste!

The apple berry salsa and cinnamon chips also went over really well.

This dip is light, fruity, and refreshing, which played in nice contrast with the heavier chicken dip.  It also it a ‘no guilt’ snack for watching TV, as it is basically all fruit (yeah it has a lot of sugar, but it’s healthier than a cupcake!).

My mom even made the comment that my apple berry salsa tasted better than the one her Pampered Chef sales lady made!  Score!

PhotobucketSuper Bowl food 2012! Plus my brother’s hand and foot.

So there it is, my super long Super Bowl entry.

Oh and I’m glad the Giants one, though it was much more exciting to see the Saints win last year.  But really I don’t care much, it’s not like it’s the WORLD CUP!!  Or the Olympics…I get really into it, let me tell ya…

Until next entry, whereupon I will bake up a nice batch of scones

Madeline a.k.a. The Hopeful Hestia

Leave a Reply

