Baked Mini Vegan Spice-cake Donuts

There is something very darling about a mini donut pan.  For a while I worked in a store that sold them, and I always thought to myself, “One day I shall possess one of this charming pans.”

I love donuts.  I mean most people like donuts, they just don’t like getting fat.  That is why baked vegan mini donuts are a great option.  No, it won’t taste like a Krispy Kreme, freshly glazed, off the conveyor belt, but I’m not Harry Potter and magic isn’t real.  If you want something to taste high in fat but not be high in fat, then you are outta luck.

But these vegan donuts are a tasty alternative and will satisfy your sweet tooth without burdening your belly.


RECIPE

The recipe I used was taken/adapted from Vegan Yum Yum, and I only changed a few things in her recipe.  Mainly I used more cinnamon and nutmeg (though I can’t be sure as she didn’t reveal her specific measurements) and I used vanilla bean paste instead of vanilla extract (just to intensify the vanilla flavor and add some nice vanilla specs).  I also used vanilla soymilk instead of plain soymilk for that very same reason.

Baked Mini Vegan Spice-cake Donuts
Make 20 Mini Donuts

Dry Ingredients:
1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Sugar
1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Nutmeg
1/4 tsp Cinnamon

Wet Ingredients:
1/2 Cup Vanilla Soymilk
1/2 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar
1/2 tsp Vanilla Bean Paste
Egg Replacer for 1 Egg
4 Tbs Earth Balance

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients with a whisk to mix thoroughly.

As you can see in the picture below, I have not yet mixed any of the ingredients, so this is not quite how you want it to look in the end.

Next I have inclined a picture of the egg replacer that I used.  I believe it was some kind of starch blend.  To use it in a recipe all one has to do is mix 1.5 teaspoons with 2 tablespoons of warm water until it is fully dissolved.  It looks like watery glue.  Delish!

Here is the Earth Balance.  It is the substitute for the butter that you will not be using.  The box claims that it has a “great buttery taste”–but this is a lie.  Not only is there nothing great about the taste, but it is not “buttery” either.  It is much like margarine, except with the flavor of unsalted wallpaper paste.

I have come to the conclusion that vegans are fantastic liars, as I have also heard vegan “cheese” praised as being “like” cheese.  This is also false, it is not like cheese anymore than a painting of cheese is like cheese.  IT IS AN ILLUSION!!

But for the sake of vegan baking this stuff works well.  Just don’t put it on toast an expect anything.

2. So combine wet ingredients in a small sauce pan over medium low heat and mix until earth balance is melted.

Also note, that the egg replacer should be throughly mixed before it is incorporated into the other ingredients.

This mixture should NOT get too hot, least it hurt the dough!  I’m not sure what it would do to the dough that would hurt it, perhaps it would ruin the texture.

Here is the mixture, ready to be incorporated into the batter:

3. When the batter is finished being mixed, use a tablespoon measure to scoop out dough into your ungreased nonstick mini-donut pan.

Vegan Yum Yum says to smooth out the top of the dough with your fingers, but sometimes the dough can be too sticky.  I only pressed it down ever so slightly.

4. Bake for 12 minutes. They should not be browned on top, but a tester will come out clean.

Invert hot pan over a cutting board or cooling rack to release donuts. (I had to tap the pan a bit to get them out, I also used a fork to gently encourage the more stubborn ones out.)  Allow to cool completely before decorating.

Glaze with Sprinkles
1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar (lump free!)
1 Tbsp Soymilk
Sprinkles (I used blue pastel sanding sugar, which I chose in honor of a co-worker who is about to have a baby boy.  As I was planning to bring them into work I thought it was a fitting choice.)

1. Whisk soymilk and powdered sugar together. Dip the “bottom” half of the donut (the side with the nicer shape) into the glaze, let some drip off, then dip glaze-side down into sprinkles.

I didn’t remember to dip the “bottom” half in the icing for mot of them, which is why my donuts were not as beautiful as they otherwise would’ve been.  I will hopefully remember this next time!

2.Transfer to a wire rack that has been set on top of some parchment paper. The excess glaze will drip through the rack onto the paper for easy cleaning later.

Also I didn’t bother with putting a liner of parchment or wax paper below the cooling rack.  That would’ve been a good idea.

As you can see, I also put melted chocolate on some of them, as I ran out of sugar.  I didn’t like them as much as the blue ones, which have a nice crunch because of the sanding sugar.

I let my brother have the chocolate ones.

CONCLUSION

I brought these babies to work for my co-workers to enjoy, as I sampled a few beforehand and know they were good enough to share.  They were well-received.  One co-worker asked if he could bring some home for his kids, which is a big compliment to me.

The nutmeg and cinnamon give the donuts a lovely flavor and smell.  I honestly felt they didn’t lack anything being vegan, though I was not surprised by this, as I have had vegan baked good before, and yeah they can be tasty!

I will definitely use this recipe again, and I will surely do more vegan baking, as I have a whole box of egg replacer in my cupboard now.

xoxo

madeline aka the helpful hestia

One thought on “Baked Mini Vegan Spice-cake Donuts

  1. I love your wrinting Mattie. I love doughnuts too. I wish I was in NC so I could
    gobble some of them. But anyway, as I said before you must write. As they say to most writers,
    write what you know. You have a natural gift. Use it or lose it.
    Love,
    Uncle A

Leave a Reply

